(short history)


  1. Beginning:

At the request of the archbishop of vivid memory Dr. Antim Nica and the vicar of that time, Dr. Casian Gălățeanul, by Decision no. 8611/1991, the Holy Synod approved the establishment of a Section of Theology-Letters (Theology - Language and Romanian Literature), within the Faculty of Letters of the University of Galați. The judgment came in accordance with the 1991 Protocol concluded between the Ministry of Education and the State Secretariat for Cults, which concerned the organization and functioning of higher theological education and its inclusion in the network of state educational institutions.


  1. The Teaching Staff

In 1992, the teaching stuff appointed by the hierarchy consisted of: pr. prof. univ. Dr. Nicolae D. Necula, dean of the Faculty of Theology of Bucharest (honorary dean of the section) at that moment, pr. lect. PhD. Ionel Ene, pr. lect. PhD. Marin Stamate, pr. Assist. Costea Tănăsache, pr. Constantin Davideanu, pr. Liviu Rotaru, pr. PhD. Gabriel Iancu, Professor Victor Marola.

Since 1995 there have been added to the academic body: PhD Gheorghe Sava, PhD, Sergiu Tofan, PhD. Ionel Ostache; later pr. Constantin Oancea and Pr. Leontin Popescu were co-opted.

Since 2001, the teaching staff has been honoured with the presence and academic performance of His Highness PhD Casian Crăciun, who is also an honorary member of the Senate of the University. In 2004, teachers were added to the teaching staff. PhD Dorin Gabriel Pandele, who since 2015 has been elected Director of the Theological Department. Since October 2006 PhD Sorin Marinescu and PhD Cristian Gagu have been enrolled in the teaching stuff of the Department.

In the professorial body he entered, as a member, lect. Dr. Lucian Petroaia. Soon Dr. Gina Scarlat joined them.

From the academic year 2008-2009 pc. pr. Dr. Ovidiu Soare has been teaching and since the academic year 2014-2015 Pr. Dr. Costel Toma has been working in the Department of Theology.

In the academic year 2016-2017 Dr. Mihai Roşu was co-opted , and from the academic year 2017-2018, Prof. Dr. Marian Ionescu.

Theology professors of the Department of Theology publish part of the results of the scientific researches in the university faculty “Theology and Education at Dunărea de Jos”, prepared and printed in the Publishing House of the “Dunărea de Jos” Episcopate.


  1. Study programs.

Since 2000, besides the Theology and Romanian Language and Literature program, the Theology - English Language and Literature functioned too. The two specializations entered into liquidation on 1 October 2006, following the changes in the structure of the University, imposed by the implementation of the “Bologna” system; from the next academic year a new study program, Didactic Theology was implemented. Since 2006 until 2015, theological specializations have been set up in a Theological Department headed by Prof. Dr. Ionel Ene.

Since October 1st, 2007, the Department of Theology has joined the Faculty of History, Philosophy and Theology. Starting with the academic year 2008-2009, the Department of Theology of the Faculty of History, Philosophy and Theology has developed the Master's program “History and Philosophical Spirituality”.

From the academic year 2009-2010, the Department of Theology of the Faculty of History, Philosophy and Theology also operates the specialization for the undergraduate “Orthodox Theology and Social Assistance”.

Based on the Decision of the Holy Synod of the Romanian Orthodox Church with no. 6588/06 July 2017, starting with the academic year 2017-2018, in the Department of Theology of the Faculty of History, Philosophy and Theology of Galați operates a new specialization for undergraduate courses - “Sacred Art”, which received from ARACIS, authorization for temporary operation.


  1. Highest academic events.

In 2000, the University of “Dunărea de Jos” was honored by granting His Holiness Bartholomew I, the Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople and the blessed honorary Patriarch Teoctist of the Romanian Orthodox Church the academic title “Doctor Honoris Causa”. This fact, historically for the Diocese and the University, alike, has given a great deal of honor and dignity to the theological departments on whose behalf the two PhDs were awarded.

In a distinguished academic event, in October 16, 2008, Professor Gerhard Mayer of the University of Tubingen and Bishop of the Lutheran Church in Baden-Wurtenberg, based on a perennial university dialogue (which in 2018 turned 22! !!) received the title of “Honorary Senator” of the “Dunărea de Jos” University in Galați.

On the day of St. Andrew's feast - November 30, 2003, the Senate of the “Dunărea de Jos” University, present in the Episcopal Cathedral, granted the Holiness Patriarch Daniel of the Romanian Orthodox Church, then Metropolitan Daniel of Moldavia and Bucovina, the title of “Senator of Honor”.

On November 30, 2011, the Holiness Patriarch Daniel of the Romanian Orthodox Church, present at Galați at the Feast of St. Andrew, received the title of “Doctor Honoris Causa” of the “Dunărea de Jos” University of Galați.